More precisely, can I use Cancel (which claims "Counter target spell.") ~ above an enchantment or one artifact?




You are watching: What counts as a spell in mtg

*

*

Since friend asked for some citations from the main rules:

111.1. A assignment is a map on the stack. As the very first step the being actors (see ascendancy 601, “Casting Spells”), the map becomes a spell and is moved to the top of the ridge from the region it was in, i beg your pardon is generally its owner’s hand. (See ascendancy 405, “Stack.”) A spell stays on the stack together a spell till it resolves (see ascendancy 608, “Resolving Spells and also Abilities”), is countered (see ascendancy 701.5), or otherwise pipeline the stack. For an ext information, see section 6, “Spells, Abilities, and also Effects.”

So basically, pretty lot every card in Magic is a "spell" - or rather, becomes one, during the transitional period from gift a card in your hand to being a permanent on the battlefield. However wait! Why isn"t a floor a spell, in that case? Well, because it has special rules making it superb case:

305.1. A player who has actually priority might play a land card from his or her hand throughout a key phase that his or her turn once the stack is empty. Play a land is a special action; it doesn’t use the stack (see dominance 115). Rather, the player just puts the floor onto the battlefield. Since the land doesn’t walk on the stack, that is never a spell, and also players can’t respond to it v instants or caused abilities.

The Magic rules room pretty arcane at the finest of times (appropriately enough), yet I hope that clarifies points for you!

EDIT: Actually, it occurs to me that even more clarification may it is in necessary. Enchantments and also artifacts aren"t spells as soon as they"re in play: they"re permanents. Castle aren"t spells once they"re in their hand, they"re enchantment cards and also artifact cards. However they are spells when on the ridge (i.e.

See more: Release Date Set For Nba 2K16 Release Date Pre Order, Nba 2K16 Release Date, Pre

In the process of gift cast). I"m certain you currently know the "counter target spell" means "stop miscellaneous on the stack from resolving and becoming a permanent, and also send the map to the graveyard instead", yet it wasn"t 100% explicit from your question! So, just in situation there"s any doubt in ~ all, cancel can stop an artifact or enchantment card from coming into play, however it can"t send it come the graveyard indigenous play, or something wacky prefer that...