Six previous winners headline 100th Indianapolis 500 entry perform

By employee | Published: may 16, 2016


INDIANAPOLIS (Monday, might 16, 2016) – Six motorists whose pictures are immortalized ~ above the renowned Borg-Warner Trophy because that winning "The best Spectacle in Racing" are amongst thosenamed come entries filed for the historical 100th running of the Indianapolis 500 Mile gyeongju presented by PennGrade engine Oil on might 29.

You are watching: 2016 indy 500 entry list

Thirty-three chauffeurs have been named for the 33 entered cars at the 2.5-mile Indianapolis engine Speedway oval. Honda will carry out 17 entries with engines and aerodynamic bodywork kits for the race, if Chevrolet will administer 16 entries through aero kits and engines.

CLICK HERE: Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade motor Oil entry list

Former Indianapolis 500 champions entered encompass a pair of many winners in Helio Castroneves (2001, 2002 and 2009) and Juan Pablo Montoya (2000 and 2015) that Team Penske. Other past Indy 500 winners gotten in are: girlfriend Lazier (1996) the Lazier/Burns Racing, Scott Dixon (2008) and also Tony Kanaan (2013) the Chip Ganassi gyeongju Teams and Ryan Hunter-Reay (2014) the Andretti Autosport.

Castroneves will try to sign up with one of the most exclusive clubs in worldwide motorsports – four-time winners the the Indianapolis 500. Castroneves is attempting to become the 4th four-time winner of the race, authorized A.J. Foyt (1961, 1964, 1967, 1977), Al Unser (1970, 1971, 1978, 1987) and also Rick Mears (1979, 1984, 1988, 1991).

In all, 19 drivers entered have actually won at the very least one race in Indy car competition, consisting of Verizon series points leader Simon Pagenaud, winner of Saturday’s Angie’s List grand Prix that Indianapolis on the IMS roadway course. Seven entered chauffeurs have won Indy car season championships.

"This year’s Indy 500 field contains all of the ingredients and also storylines the a legendary race and sets the stage for this historic 100th running," said Indianapolis motor Speedway president J. Douglas Boles. "I understand IMS fans space looking forward to every minute of practice and also qualification activity as the stars of the Verizon collection compete come drink milk on might 29."

Indy automobile season champions gone into in the race incorporate four-time Verizon series champion Dixon (2003, 2008, 2013 and 2015), four-time Champ automobile champion Sebastien Bourdais (2004-2007), Montoya (CART 1999) and also Verizon series title winners Lazier (2000), Kanaan (2004), Hunter-Reay (2012) and Will strength (2014).

Five rookies with varied credentials are likewise assigned come cars, including reigning Indy lights presented by Cooper Tires champion Spencer Pigot, previous Formula One driver Alexander Rossi and Mazda road to Indy graduates Stefan Wilson, Matt Brabham and also Max Chilton.

See more: The House With A Clock In Its Walls Dvd ), The House With A Clock In Its Walls (Dvd)

Rookie orientation and also veteran refresher programs begin on-track action from noon-2 p.m. ET today, complied with by practice open to every cars indigenous 2-6 p.m. Practice continues through Friday, through qualifications to collection the 33-car field scheduled for may 21-22 and another practiceMay 23. Fearbut Lite carb Day, which consists of the last one-hour practice prior to the race, is set for might 27. The epos 100th to run of the Indianapolis 500 on might 29 airs on ABC and the breakthrough Auto components Radio Network (11 a.m. ET).